Black Day of Democary

Ten central trade unions raised a demand to observe a ‘Black Day‘ on May 26, 2021.

Ten central unions in the joint forum include Indian National Trade Union Congress (INTUC), All India Trade Union Congress (AITUC), Hind Mazdoor Sabha (HMS), Centre of Indian Trade Unions (CITU), All India United Trade Union Centre (AIUTUC), Trade Union Co-ordination Centre (TUCC), Self-Employed Women’s Association (SEWA), All India Central Council of Trade Unions (AICCTU), Labour Progressive Federation (LPF) and United Trade Union Congress (UTUC). 

Black Day of Indian Democracy

Sources reveal that this is the outcome of the frustration due to the FIRs filed in Hisar against farmers. Though the district administration has finally decided to drop the filed FIRs on Monday, the farmers and trade unions have systematically decided and gathered supporters to observe ‘Black Day.’ 

A nationwide ‘Black Day’ would be observed by hoisting black flags at the protest to put a pressure on the government. Their demands include free vaccination for all, free ration and Rs 7,500 per month for the poor, repealing three farm laws and minimum support price for crops and withdrawal of four labour codes passed by Parliament last year. These codes are not implemented so far because rules under those are yet to be notified.

The day clashes with the completion of 6 months of farmer’s protest and oath-taking of the prime minister of India, Mr. Narendra Modi. A day after the Hisar clashes, Samyukta Kisan Morcha (SKM) urged everyone to observe this day. “Peaceful gathering at Hisar showed our strength. Farmers are no longer just voters.

Indian Democary 26 May Farmers Ralley

They are now emerging as a pressure group. Protests will gradually take pan-India shape if the government doesn’t agree to repeal the anti-farmer laws and give a legal guarantee to procurement at minimum support price,” said P Krishnaprasad of All India Kisan Sabha (AIKS).

12 opposition parties came forward in support of the notion. The political parties include Congress, TMC, NCP, DKM, Shiv Sena, Samajwadi Party, JMM, RJD, CPI, CPM, and others. Though TRS, AAP, and CPI (ML) are not part of this group of 12, farmer leaders claimed that these parties are also independently supporting farmers in their fight against the farm laws.

Amidst the pandemic, farmer leader Rakesh Tikait promised there will be no crowding and marching towards the capital and all the precautions would be taken to prevent outspread of Covid-19.

Preeti Pahuja

By Preeti Pahuja

Just an independent girl. Love to explore the world.

Your comments